In my last blog I said that I broke down and purchased a small generator. After some digging on the internet, I found that the power output from these generators is very “dirty”. Sensitive electronics would not like it at all. So I have a solution. Sometime ago I purchased a used APC Smart-up 1500 on the internet. It has the ability to condition the incoming voltage. Basically, it does a great job at making the output stay at 120VAC. The idea is to run the generator and have it feed the battery back -up. The battery back-up runs my emergency loads. With a load of 300Watts the battery back-up will last close to an hour. That would be enough time for the generator to cool off and I could refuel it. Since my emergency load should be very small. (100W) I could get over three hours with the battery back-up.

