Well, ha ha, the point is down 24 feet.  I hooked up the pump and I can barely get any water. When I check the depth of the water it is at close to 20 feet. The point of the 4 foot well screen is at 24 feet. So then I understand why can’t get any water. The water is too far down. From my earlier research I found that normally the water table is around 12-15 feet. The problem is that we have not had more than an inch of rain in the last 60 days. We are down almost 5 inches since July.

What does this mean? It means that I think I should have plenty of water if we were not in a moderate drought. I may sink another well point next to the current one just so I have enough well screen for the pump. But, I will not be watering with it anytime soon. 😦

Total cost sits at $200 including the pump. Not a huge sum of money but without any water I am not getting any return on investment. Hopefully, my well adventure will end on the positive side.

