Someone, not me, forgot to close the umbrella on the back patio. Well, a storm came through and blew it right into the house. One window is now broken. So the question is,

Repair or Replace?

How efficient are my windows right now? Not very. I have double pane with 7/8″ argon filled gap. No low-e coating. From what I can tell, that is about R-2.5. In another blog, I figured I was wasting twice as much energy from heating my house because of windows and doors. Not that all of that waste can be stopped. I still need t get into the house! But, if even 50% of the heat loss is from the windows, I could save money by upgrading. (R-2.5 is equal to a U value of 0.4)

I can replace the window for over $600 or repair it for $240. This was a very easy decision, repair. I am not ready to spend $600 for one window. I want to replace them all and not right now.And I don’t have thousands of dollars. But…

How much would I save if I were to replace my windows with the installers recommended R-8.3 window. If installation was comparable to what I have now then I would lose 3X less energy. That would be about 35% saving in lost heat energy. Or, very close to a 20% total saving in total energy. How much would the saving in $$$ be. Well not as much as you think. Maybe $200 a year in heating saving, and another $50 in cooling. A non-cost adder would be increased levels of comfort. I know I would save more money by replacing my HVAC and it would cost less. But neither are happening anytime soon.

