I am going to use this with my heat pump water heater. Since I already had a surge protector and a Kill-a-Watt meter, why not add a timer that does all three.

Kill A Watt GT 4480

I thought it was easy to set up and easy to use. Just like the regular kill-a-watt, it tells me how much electricity I have used and the total time. The nice thing is it has both on the same screen. My current setup is; on all the time for the weekend. Weekdays, on from 2am to 9am and 7pm to 9pm. I think I will tweak this as time goes on but the reason for the early morning is to provide the hottest shower for my wife. (That what she wants and that what she will get)

The three buttons on the top are ON, OFF and Auto. Just like a regular timer would have. Programing is done in 15 minute increments. This device is perfect for what I am doing. Now if my local utility ever does Time Of Use billing I am set.

