Well, I missed my energy target. The green PC runs at 40Watts. There are a few reasons for this.

One, I purchased a Western Digital Green Drive. I placed it into my DVR that runs 24/7. This will save me more money. The DVR drive that went into the green PC uses 9.3 watts at idle. The Western Digital Drive uses only 2.8 Watts. That would have made 6.5 Watts difference right there. On the bright side, the saving from the drive are multiplied by 4 (Green PC up time is only 6 Hours).

Two, I purchased a Blue ray drive instead of a regular DVD drive. Since the drive then has two lasers its power requirements will be more.

I figure these two “upgrades” put me well over the 35 Watt mark. But, they are worth the investment. I still save energy over the computer it replaces and the new PC is faster. Now having finished this little guy I want to make an even smaller one! But where would I put it?

Hardware breakout:

Seagate barracuda 7200.10 (320GB)

Jetway NC92-330-LF

FoxConn RS233 Case

Kingston 2GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667

LITE-ON Black 4X BD-ROM

