I have been investigating ways to save money during the summer from water usage. I have tossed around the idea of rainwater collection. The major issue is the storage tank. The larger sized ones cost a lot of money. Then there is the issue of location. I can’t just have a 1000 gallon tank sitting on the side of the house. I could just bury a tank but those cost three times as much.

My solution is to drive a shallow well.

I have scoured the internet looking for good resources. I have found quite a few.

Basic How to.

Wonderful and very helpful website by Fred Dungan

The best guide I could find!

Mother Earth News Well Driving.

Terry Love Forum section on wells.

Ohio State Well guidelines

Do-it Best PVC well screens.

I figure it will cost about $500 to drive a 1.25 inch shallow well down 20 ft. This will include the shallow well pump. From the my states website I have determined that I should be able to get water at about 15 ft. or less. The quality of the water is not an issue. I will be watering my garden with it and also my lawn. I will not be drinking from it. This small project will pay for itself in less then one season.

