But not a really big one. I am just talking about a little 10 watt or so turbine. I am thinking I will mount it right above my solar landscape panel. Maybe the panel could provide a little more wind as the air tries to go up and over it. This location is not ideal but it makes mounting the unit much easier. Normally, you want unobstructed clean air for any wind turbine.

The hope for this little unit would be in the winter. The last three winters the landscape lights have gone dark from the middle of December until the middle of January. Coming on for maybe a few day here or there. Since the lights don’t use very much I only need to replace a minimal amount. Of course, in the middle of winter, the Sun may not come out for a couple of weeks. That is what make a hybrid system so nice. When the Sun is out, the battery gets charged for the solar panel. When it is cloudy, the wind is usually blowing. That is where the small turbine helps out.

Wind is a 24 hour a day resource. In my area the wind seems to die down after sunset but one can still have breezy nights. Even with a small turbine, say 10 watts, you could capture over 200 watts on a breezy day. That would power my lights for more than a few days. The big debate now is what size to get? There is a small outfit that makes “project” windmills. USA Wind Generators, makes 10, 30, 50 125 and larger wind generators at a very reasonable price. The 10 watt model can be had for about $30 +shipping, The problem for the two smallest models is startup wind speed. I don’t see many 15mph days. The 50 watt model can only survive 20mph winds. i.e. say good bye in a thunderstorm.

My current thought is the remove two blades for the 50 watt model. This means I would have two extra blades and the unit should be able to survive higher winds. The output will be less but it is already high enough. The start-up speed will change but hopefully it will not go up too much. My only wish now would be for a metal hub instead of a ABS plastic.

